Suddenly Single Sylvia by Angela Page – Spotlight

Title: Suddenly Single Sylvia

Author: Angela Page

Synopsis:

Suddenly single and broke, Sylvia, 55, transforms herself into a dating coach. Along with her housemates, Kiki, a young transgender Asian, and Honey, a Latina psychic chiropractor, Sylvia builds a singles dating service for boomers and searches for her Mr. Perfect. But does she follow her own dating advice? Get inspired and motivated by Sylvia’s dating tips in her accompanying dating guide and workbook!

 

 

1cd86-goodreads-button

amazonbuyitbutton


 

Excerpt

Novella:

I was a wreck and couldn’t even hold a cup of herbal tea without shaking. Herbal tea is supposed to calm you. But this was too big of a shit storm for herbal tea. I was numb, desperate, with tightness in my chest. I believed my spirit was dying. He sucked all my life’s juices when he announced he was leaving. He was running away with that TRAMP! How dare he leave his son, our lovely suburban home, and me? What kind of a man does this?

Dating Guide:

AM I DATEABLE

Look in the mirror, and be honest.

How do I feel?  Am I depressed, happy, blah, lonely, or sad?

Do I look how I feel?

Does depressed show on your face?

If you are happy with yourself and your world, it will show on your face.

You must exude and project confidence to be successful in the dating world.

No one wants a detached, morose or silent partner  (unless they are a sadist, looking for a masochist).

Author Q&A

What inspired you to write this book?

I had access to a treasure trove of material from a team of dating experts that ran a dating service and singles events in the pre-Internet era.  Their stories, advice and personal journeys seemed to pair up with bundling a novella and a dating guide.

Have you followed Sylvia’s advice when dating?

I wish I had such a guide when I was young.  There were so many red and black beach flags in my dates and relationships. Instead of dumping them, I married them!

The book feels like Golden Girls meets Grace & Frankie. What made you include such diverse characters?

I wanted to portray an updated version of communal living in a multicultural setting.   The merging of Jewish American, Latina and Chinese cultures represents a large portion of my experiences.

 

About the Author:

Angela Page is an award-winning writer and producer. Her first novel, the comic romance, MATCHED IN HEAVEN received the 2015 New Apple Literary award for humor and was the 2016 Reader’s Views award finalist in romance. Her short comedy,UNPLUGGING AUNT VERA, won a variety of awards in film festivals across the U.S. and abroad. She writes and producers for the digital sketch group, Nightpantz, where her most recent release, “Homestead Loves Mulch” was featured on “Funny or Die,” and “Comedy Cake.” She divides her time between Boca Raton and Los Angeles.

 www.angelapage.net

https://www.facebook.com/angela.page.3576

https://www.facebook.com/SingleSylvia-277674169307184/

Leave a Reply

