Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney Review by Marie

unspecified.jpeg

Black Dawn
by Mallory McCartney
Genre: YA/A Fantasy
Release Date: February 14th 2017
Clean Reads Publishing

Summary from Goodreads:

The end of an Empire, The rise of a Queen

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life. That is until two mysterious, and handsome soldiers show up at her apartment, and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Memphis Carter and Brokk Foster come from the magical and war ridden world of Kiero, and upon Emory’s arrival she will discover she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line and is thrown into the Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne.

With both men being darkly woven in her past Emory uncovers hidden secrets, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I was super excited when I was chosen to review this book for the tour, I had been wanting to read it and even had it on my personal ‘to-read’ list. So when I dove right in, it wasn’t what I expected….

The beginning had me in an abyss of confusion, it was hard to comprehend until further into the book, I finally understood the plot and then had a better understanding. This book definitely had a different beginning than other books I have read, a beginning for some that may confuse them, at first I questioned if this was truly the first book in the series but it was only at that time that I questioned it but as I read further, deeper into the book, I began to understand. Once you begin and start getting further in, you start to get a better grasp and comprehend what it is that the author is wanting to communicate through the characters and the plot.

I personally found it hard to follow but it was a strong plot and had such potential, I understand where it was trying to go but don’t personally like how it began, but nonetheless, I still enjoyed the ending and look forward to seeing what the author has in store next.

img_4169
~Marie

About the Author

Mallory McCartney currently lives in London, Ontario with her husband and their two dachshunds Link and Lola. Black Dawn is her debut novel, the first in a series. When she isn’t working on her next novel or reading, she can be found dog grooming, book shopping and hiking. Other favorite pastimes involve reorganizing perpetually overflowing bookshelves and seeking out new coffee and dessert shops.

GoodreadsTwitterFacebook

Blog Tour Organized by:

YA Bound Book Tours

Leave a Reply

