Angelbound by Christina Bauer Review by Marie

31932429.jpg
Angelbound

Christina Bauer
(Angelbound Origins Book 1)
Published by: Monster House Books
Publication date: December 30th 2016
Genres:Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult

Goodreads Amazon

*Now an audio book!*

Eighteen-year-old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your everyday quasi-demon, half-demon, and half-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter heaven or hell, they go up against her, and she has not lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights are not enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it is not looking good for the quasi-demons. Myla starts to question everything, and does not like the answers she finds. What happened 17 years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is?

Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy half-human and half-angel demon hunter. But what does a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla is not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla is going to shake up Purgatory.

Review:

Where to start…..

Can someone please gift me the next book in the series!

I was hesitant at first, but the synopsis caught my attention, and I am so glad that I followed my gut. I was thrown into Myla’s world, or should I saw realm of purgatory, where souls that ask for trial by combat go to determine whether they get into heaven or sent to hell.

I loved how Myla was not just that usual female character we have come to expect in books, she was up-front right from the beginning, hard-headed and one tough girl all around that you wouldn’t want to get on the bad side of, especially in an arena, I guess that is to be expected from someone who carries the deadly sin of wrath within her. The plot was an interesting one, for moments through the book I found myself questioning certain things, not in a bad way but actually because I kept trying to predict what could happen and it would end up being completely different than what I thought. I know that we have all come across those books that we say, “Yeah….I saw that coming”.

This one on the other hand was not what I expected, but thats what I loved about it aside from the plot and the characters, the characters were so easy to connect with because they reminded me of actual people in my life, aside from the demons, ghouls, angels, etc.

Myla and her friends Cissy and Zeke, her mother, Walker…..all of them and wait until you meet Lincoln…..

I find it very hard to not want to write more but in hopes that our followers will pick up a copy and try the book for themselves, I do not want to spoil it for you.

Be sure to pick up your copy, I am certain you won’t be disappointed.

img_3893

~Marie

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christina graduated from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School with BA’s in English as well as Television, Radio, and Film Production. Her day job is in marketing for companies like Microsoft, Cisco, and Zerto. Back in the go-go 90′s, she founded her own software start-up, Mindful Technologies. Christina believes that, upon close examination of Tolkien’s text, it’s entirely possible that the Balrog was wearing fuzzy bunny slippers.

One thought on “Angelbound by Christina Bauer Review by Marie

Leave a Reply

